Some Useful Ubuntu Commands

It’s been a long time since I played with linux so yesterday I installed Ubuntu 7.04 on a laptop and PC at work.  I wanted to use PCLinuxOS 2007 TR4, especially as I preferred it’s interface and all the included software, but found after installing it that it’s difficult finding help for it, but help for Ubuntu is everywhere.  Something to do with the fact that it is the most popular distro, possibly?  😉

Anyway, I wanted the laptop and PC to dual boot with Windows XP Pro and I wanted to use the XP boot menu as default.  Anybody complaining about me not using LILO or GRUB as default bootloader can feck off!  I created
a 150MB hda1 partition for /boot and installed GRUB here.  In order to get the necessary file to add to Windows boot menu i used the following command:

dd if=/dev/hda1 of=/mnt/hda8/ubuntu7.bin bs=512 count=1

More info on this can be found here and here, and by searching Google.  I’m not going into details on everything I did, I just want to record the main commands for my own future reference to save me having to search Google next time I want to use them!

After install I was having display problems so, thanks to the  FixVideoResolutionHowto in the Community Documentation for Ubuntu I used the following command to reconfigure xserver:

sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

I also installed 915resolution using:

sudo apt-get install 915resolution

After I installed an ATI Radeon VE AGP video card I removed 915resolution using:

sudo apt-get remove 915resolution

Now back to learning!